RADOSLAV PUTAR AWARD 2023 – Shortlisted Finalists





This year, as in the previous 21 at the Institute for Contemporary Art, a competition was announced and juring was held for the Radoslav Putar Award in 2023, an annual award for visual artists in Croatia up to 40 years of age, accompanied by an open call for jury members under 40 years of age.




The Radoslav Putar Award consists of

– a two-month residency program at the Residency Unlimited in New York;, on time in agreement with RU; in 2024.

– solo exhibitions at the Institute of Contemporary Art in Zagreb, during 2024;

– production of a multi-original in collaboration with Gallery S from Koprivnica,

– and places in the jury of the Radoslav Putar Award 2024.



The partners of the Institute for Contemporary Art are organizing the project

Croatian Association of Fine Artists, HULU – Split, and Gallery S from Koprivnica.

Residency Unlimited and Trust for Mutual Understanding, New York, and YVAA – Young Visual Artists Awards.


The jurying of the first round of this year’s competition was held hybridly, online and at the Institute of Contemporary Art, on March 20, 2023.


Among the 32 applications received for this year’s competition for the Radoslav Putar Award, the jury consisted of:


Gloria Lizde, Split; artist, winner of the 2022 Radoslav Putar Award.

Bojan Krištofić, art critic, writer and designer, manager of Atelijeri Žitnjak Gallery, Zagreb

Sara Mikelić, independent curator, Open call for curators under 40, Zagreb

Denise Sumi, curator and editor, head of the Digital Solitude program, Akademie Schloss Solitude, Stuttgart, and co-founder of Kevin Space, Vienna

Rozana Vojvoda, museum advisor, Dubrovnik Art Gallery


has selected four Finalists of this year’s 22nd edition of the Award.





Željko Beljan, 1984., Vukovar

Mihael Klanjčič, 1994., Zagreb

Josip Šurlin, 1993., Split

Josip Rončević, 1991., Zadar



Congratulations to all the selected finalists and we wish each of them every success in the further course of the competition!


The Finalists’ Exhibition is scheduled to open on, June 12, 2023, at 8:00 pm at the Galić Salon / HULU – Split, where the jury after the second round of competition and discussions with each individual finalist should announce the winner of the Radoslav Putar Award for 2023.



Radoslav Putar photographed by Marijan Molnar, detail


Radoslav Putar (Varaždin, July 20, 1921 – Zagreb, July 18, 1994), a famous art historian and art critic, significantly directed the Croatian cultural scene toward the contemporary art language. His work is also important from a social point of view because he promoted the ideas of democracy and advocated dialogue, tolerance, freedom of expression and openness to other cultures. Today, it is difficult to imagine the extent to which his work was heroic, and we can confidently say that his contribution to the theory and practice is a key segment of contemporary Croatian art and culture.


Our initiative to name the award Radoslav Putar Award reflects our desire to promote clear attitudes, active participation and high professional standards, as tools for the affirmation of democratic processes, interdependent with the development of culture, cultural institutions and the arts in Croatia.


Radoslav Putar graduated from the University of Zagreb (1949) where he later taught at the Department of Art History (1951 – 1961). He was a co-founder and a member of the Gorgona group (1959-1966), head of the information department at the newly established CIO, the Center for Industrial Design (1964-65), curator of the Museum of Arts and Crafts (1968-1972). , director of the Zagreb City Gallery (1972-1979), editor of the magazine Spot (1972-1978), founder of CEFFT, the centre for photography, film and television (1973,), and director of the Museum of Arts and Crafts. (1979 – 1983).


Past Winners of the Radoslav Putar Award:

 Tanja Dabo 2002; Nika Radić 2003; Igor Eškinja 2004; Antun Božičević 2005; Tina Gverović 2006; Vedran Perkov 2007; Marko Tadić 2008, Goran Škofić 2009, Davor Sanvincenti 2010, Marko Marković 2011, Miran Blažek 2012; Dina Rončević 2013; Igor Ruf 2014., Niko Mihaljević, 2015.; Dino Zrnec 2016., Matej Knežević, 2017., Ana Kuzmanić, 2018., and Predrag Pavić, 2019., Damir Sobota, 2020.; Lana Stojićević, 2021.; Glorija Lizde, 2022.



So far, more than 500 artists and curators have participated in the competitions of the Radoslav Putar Award, and 90 artists and 95 members of the jury in the finals.


Radoslav Putar Award is a member of the international network YVAA – Young Visual Artists Awards.