RADOSLAV PUTAR AWARD exhibition FINALE 2023!!! and the announcement of the Winner




SALON GALIĆ, Marmontova 3, Split, 12.6. 2023. 20:00


Institute for Contemporary Art, Zagreb
and HULU – Split

are honoured to invite you to the


exhibition FINALE 2023!!!,
22nd exhibition of the Radoslav Putar Award Finalists and the Announcement of this year’s Winner.


This year’s Finalists of the Radoslav Putar 2023 Award are:

ŽELJKO BELJAN, (Vukovar, 1984.)
MIHAEL KLANJČIĆ, (Zagreb, 1994.)
JOSIP ŠURLIN, (Split, 1993.)
JOSIP RONČEVIĆ, (Zadar, 1991.)


This award has been given since 2002 as part of the international network YVAA – Young Visual Artists Awards, which consists of organizers of similar awards in 12 European countries. The award was established in 2002 by the Institute for Contemporary Art, Zagreb.


The initiative of the Institute for Contemporary Art to name the Award after Radoslav Putar mirrors the wish to promote clear statements, active participation and high professional standards, as the affirmation tools of the processes of democratization interactive with the development of culture and its institutions and art in Croatia.


RADOSLAV PUTAR (Varaždin, July 20, 1921 – Zagreb, July 18, 1994), a famous art historian and art critic, significantly directed the Croatian cultural scene towards the contemporary art language. His work is also important from a social point of view because he promoted the ideas of democracy and advocated dialogue, tolerance, freedom of expression and openness to other cultures. Today, it is difficult to imagine the extent to which his work was heroic, and we can confidently say that his contribution to theory and practice is a key segment of contemporary Croatian art and culture.


The Radoslav Putar Award consists of a two-month stay at the Residency Unlimited in New York;, in the term in agreement with RU; solo exhibition at the Institute for Contemporary Art in Zagreb during 2024; multi-original production in collaboration with Gallery S from Koprivnica, and a place in the jury of the Radoslav Putar Award 2024.


This year’s jury members of the Radoslav Putar Award are:

Glorija Lizde, 2022 Radoslav Putar Award Winner, Split
Bojan Krištofić, art critic, author; designer, head of Ateliers Žitnjak Gallery, Zagreb
Sara Mikelić, independent curator, Open call for curators up to 40 years of age, Zagreb
Denise Sumi, curator and editor based in Vienna and Stuttgart, head of Digital Solitude program, Akademie Schloss Solitude, Stuttgart, and co-founder Kevin Space, Vienna
Rozana Vojvoda,museum advisor, Museum of Modern Art Dubrovnik